
Reporting an Accident or the Occurrence 
of an Occupation Disease 
Criteria for reporting an accident or occurrence of an occupation disease to the 
Commission  

1. Why must an accident or the occurrence of an occupation disease be reported to 
the Commission?  
 

• It is required by statute pursuant to Virginia Code § 65.2-900, which states 
in part, "Every employer shall keep a record of all injuries or deaths of its 
employees which occur in the course of employment. Within ten days after 
the occurrence of such injury or death, and knowledge of injury as 
provided in § 65.2-600, a report of the injury or death shall be made and 
transmitted to the Commission by the employer, its representative or, in 
the case of an insured employer, its insurance carrier, in accordance with 
regulations adopted by the Commission..."  
 

• Failure to report the accident or occurrence of an occupational disease 
may toll the statute of limitations. Where an employer has received notice 
of an accident or the occurrence of an occupational disease, as required 
by Virginia Code § 65.2-600, the employer, its representative or, in the 
case of an insured employer, its insurance carrier, must file the report of 
the accident or occupational disease with the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Commission as required by Virginia Code § 65.2-900. If the 
employer fails to do so, and such conduct operates to prejudice the rights 
of the employee with respect to the filing of a claim prior to expiration of a 
statute of limitations otherwise applicable, the statute may be tolled until 
the accident or occurrence of an occupational disease is reported to the 
Commission.  

 
• It allows the employer to provide appropriate medical care and potentially 

minimize the incapacity and reduce the seriousness of the injury through 
reporting the injury and providing the panel of three physicians as required 
by Virginia Code § 65.2-603.  

 
• It allows the employer's insurance carrier or claims administrator time to 

investigate the claim to determine compensability as well as provide an 
appropriate defense should the claim be denied and proceed to the 
Commission's hearing docket.  

 

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+65.2-900
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+65.2-600
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+65.2-600
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+65.2-900
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+65.2-603


2. What happens if an employer, its representative or, in the case of an insured 
employer, its insurance carrier, fails to report an accident or occurrence of an 
occupational disease?  
 
• The employer/carrier will receive notice of a Show Cause hearing to 

appear before the Commission to show cause why they failed to respond 
to the Commission's Order.  
 

• The Commission may assess a civil penalty up to $5,000.00 pursuant to 
Virginia Code § 65.2-902: 

§ 65.2-902. Failure to make required reports; civil penalty.  

Any employer who fails to make any report required by the Commission 
pursuant to this title shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than 
$500 for each failure. If the Commission determines that any such failure 
is willful, it shall assess a civil penalty of not less than $500 and not more 
than $5,000. The civil penalty herein provided may be assessed by the 
Commission in an open hearing with the right of review and appeal as in 
other cases. In the event the employer has transmitted the report to the 
insurance carrier or third party administrator for transmission to the 
Commission, the insurance carrier or third party administrator failing to 
transmit the report shall be liable for the civil penalty.  

3. When must an employer or insurance carrier report an accident or the occurrence of 
an occupation disease with the Commission?  
 

• Within 10 days of knowledge of the accident. If an accident is "minor," 
then it must be reported within 30 days of knowledge of the accident. A 
"minor" accident is one which meet none of the following criteria:  
 

o Lost time exceeds 7 days  
o Medical expenses exceed $1,000  
o Compensability is denied  
o Issues are disputed  
o Accident resulted in death  
o Permanent disability or disfigurement may be involved  
o A specific request is made by the Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Commission  

 

4. How should an accident or the occurrence of an occupation disease be reported to 
the Commission?  
 

o All accidents must be reported to the Commission electronically by EDI. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+65.2-902
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+65.2-902


 

5. If I suspect fraud is involved, do I still have to report an accident or the 
occurrence of an occupation disease?  
 

o Yes, all accidents or the occurrences of an occupation disease must be 
reported, even if you suspect the claim is fraudulent.  
 

o You can report suspected fraudulent claims directly to the Virginia State 
Police at http://www.stampoutfraud.com or by calling their toll-free Fraud 
hot line 1-877-623-7283 

 

http://www.stampoutfraud.com/
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