
 

 

 

New Attorney Rules 

Rule 4.2 Notice 

At a meeting held on July 9, 2009, the Commission adopted the following version of Rule 4.2, 
effective immediately.  

 

Rule 4.2:  

Each party shall promptly provide the other parties with copies of any medical records they receive as 
they receive them. Unless otherwise directed by the Commission or these Rules, the parties shall not 
file medical records with the Commission until a hearing request is filed. The requesting party shall 
promptly file medical records supporting the request, if applicable. After a hearing request has been 
filed, the parties shall file with the Commission only medical records that are related to the hearing 
request. These records shall be filed upon receipt by the party filing them, and are required reports 
subject to the provisions of 65.2-902. A party is not required to file copies of medical records that 
another party has already filed.  

A medical care provider attending an injured employee shall, upon request from an employer or an 
employee, furnish a copy of required reports, at no cost except for a nominal copying charge.  

A medical care provider is entitled to a reasonable fee for preparation of a narrative report written in 
response to a request from a party if the report requires significant professional research or 
preparation.  

 

Foreign Attorneys 

Effective July 1, 2007, the Commission ’s policy concerning participation in cases pending before it by 
attorneys who are not licensed to practice law in Virginia was superseded by amended Supreme 
Court Rule 1A:4. The amended Rule requires the following:  

1. The out-of-state attorney must complete a notarized application form and deliver it to local 
counsel (an active member of the Virginia State Bar in good standing) with whom the out-of-
state attorney is associating. The form is available at:  
http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/scv/forms/pro_hac_vice_form.pdf  

 

Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission 
1000 DMV Drive, Richmond, VA 23220 

Phone: 1-877-664-2566 

Website: http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov 

WebFile: https://webfile.workcomp.virginia.gov 

http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/scv/forms/pro_hac_vice_form.pdf
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/
https://webfile.workcomp.virginia.gov/


2. Local counsel must file with the Clerk of the Commission the following items:  
a. The completed, signed, notarized application;  
b. A check in the amount of $250.00 payable to the Supreme Court of Virginia;  
c. A Motion for admission of the foreign attorney pro hac vice;  
d. A proposed Order admitting the foreign attorney.  

 

3. Upon receipt of the above items, the Clerk’s Office will confirm with the Supreme Court that the 
foreign attorney has not entered an appearance in more than 12 cases before Virginia 
tribunals during the past 12 months. 

 

4. If the foreign attorney is not barred by the 12-case rule, then the Clerk will refer the application 
to the Chief Deputy Commissioner for review and entry of the Order.  

 

This Rule applies to each and every case in which attorneys who are not licensed to practice law in 
Virginia wish to participate, regardless of the type of case or its posture (e.g. initial and change-in-
condition workers’ compensation cases, Petition and Order settlements, Reviews, Peer Review, and 
cases concerning the Birth-Related Neurological Injuries Compensation Act and the Criminal Injuries 
Compensation Fund), and out-of-state attorneys may not make an appearance until an Order 
granting admission has been entered. If the out-of-state attorney wishes to appear in more than one 
case, a separate application package must be filed, and the $250.00 fee paid, for each case.  

 

The complete text of amended Supreme Court Rule 1A:4 is available at: 
http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/scv/forms/pro_hac_vice_rule_inst.pdf  

 

http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/scv/forms/pro_hac_vice_rule_inst.pdf

